A Christmas Carol back in Chicago at The Goodman Theatre

A Christmas Carol back in Chicago at The Goodman Theatre

By Anna Castillo

Making holiday dreams come true for 35 years, the Goodman Theatre presents Charles Dickens A Christmas Carol, adapted by Tom Creamer and directed by Steve Scott. Tom Creamer’s adaption of A Christmas Carol has been produced at the Goodman and other Midwest theaters since 1989. Tom served as dramaturg for more than 50 productions at the Goodman Theatre. Steve Scott is an associate producer of the Goodman Theatre and has overseen over 200 productions. In his fifth production at the Goodman in A Christmas Carol, the role of Ebenezer Scrooge is played by Chicago actor Larry Yando. Larry was honored as Chicago magazine Best Actor in Chicago and received DePaul University’s Excellence in the Arts Award. As Ebenezer Scrooge, Larry brings the character to life, an astonishing performance. The show is also cast with very talented local actors, Ora Jones, Nora Fiffer, and Elizabeth Ledo.

As a first timer to the Goodman’s A Christmas Carol, this show was brilliant. From the special effects of the three ghosts to the amazing dancing and music, I loved this show! I wanted to dance in the dance scenes, the characters made me feel like I was there at their party! I will definitely see it again. I found the show to be hilarious, emotional, and a bit scary. The eeriness of the Ghost of Christmas Future made me forget I was there to see a Christmas show. I will admit, the only character I felt was out of place was the Ghost of Christmas Past. The strobe lighting and the character’s costume seemed to be more cosmic, rather than a ghost from Victorian London. I expected the usual garb for a ghost, flowing, dreary gown, not something that reminded me of a costume from the Mama Mia production. Aside from that, I can see why the show is a holiday favorite at the Goodman. I recommend everyone see A Christmas Carol at the Goodman, it will put you in the holiday spirit. Because of the scariness of the ghosts, I would not recommend for children under 10 but a definite holiday gift for families with older children. The show runs through December 29th, be sure to get your tickets! you will not be disappointed!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Entertainment

Leave a Reply

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
