Marcia's Law – Get it Right

Marcia’s Law – Get it Right

“Cheers to New Year and another chance for us to get it right.”
-Oprah Winfrey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By Marcia Prichason

A year ago, I began writing for www.thequ.co. It all began, innocuously enough when I started ranting on Facebook about inequality. My son, home for the holidays, felt I needed a new venue. Having just met the founders of TheQu, he suggested that I write for them.

They bravely decided to give me a try, and I’ve been writing every week since then. It has been a wonderful year for me. I have learned so much, and I have grown both as an individual and as a writer. As I reflect on this past year, I have many reasons to be grateful.

I am grateful that I have:

–My gay son

–TheQu where I can demand full equality for my son and every other LGBTQ individual in this country

–The opportunity to share my belief that every human being is worthy of respect and dignity; no one should live in fear

–Perhaps touched you in some way; made you think, reflect, or laugh

And, I am very grateful that despite the setbacks, the vitriol of our opponents, and the fear that social change inevitably brings, we seem to be moving toward equality.

As we enter 2013, nine states have legalized marriage equality. Today, approximately 52% of Americans believe in equality and that rate seems to be increasing at about 2% a year. But, our job is not done. We have much work ahead of us. There are still 31 states that do NOT grant full equality. Many states still tolerate discrimination in employment and housing. And the Supreme Court will be hearing arguments about DOMA later this year. Given the makeup of the Court, they may decide to uphold it.

Still, we have made tremendous progress. Whether or not the Supreme Court rules that DOMA is unconstitutional, history is with us. We must seize the momentum and continue to push for equality; stridently, brazenly, and with vigor.

I resolve to do just that. In 2013, I resolve to:

–Write and speak about equality at every opportunity
–Educate myself so that I present myself with dignity
–Maintain my passion. It’s good to be pissed off at injustice!

If you’re reading this column, I thank you. If you believe in equality, I implore you to find a way to advocate for it; because it takes all of us, separately and together to make equality a reality.

This is the right time to push hard for equal rights. This is the right year to say we have a real “chance for us to get it right.” This is our moment. Together we can succeed!

…And I’m just a mom who loves her son…

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Lifestyle, Slidebar
2 comments on “Marcia's Law – Get it Right
  1. Karen says:

    Great way to end one and start a new year! Fingers crossed on IL marriage equality!

  2. Joyce says:

    Thank you,Marcia. It’s been a pleasure and an education reading your columns. I look forward to your future offerings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
